Nourishing Your Body: End of Semester Recipes

It’s pretty much the end of March and you’re probably a) swamped in work; b) you have still weird lull in your to-do list followed by two weeks of back to back assignments and exams… Either way, I have a few things to share with you…

  1. You can do it!!! You’ve made it this far and that’s something to celebrate in and of itself!
  2. Take care of yourself! You’re probably tired and stressed and eating healthy is low on the priority list… EXCEPT, that you’ll need energy to finish this semester on the right foot. And, it’s often nice to step away from your desk, make some food and gain some mind space…
  3. These recipes are super simple and with some substitutions, can even be made in your dorm! Happy cooking!

So, with that in mind, I want to share two of my go-to recipes when I need a extra “kick in the pants” so to speak and something healthy that with make me feel good and fuel my mind and body for completing my work (and also just being a human being!).

RECIPE 1: a blueberry smoothie bowl topped with lot ‘o good stuff.

IMG_4721

This smoothie bowl is super simple: all you need is a blender and just a few ingredients!

Smoothie:

  • 1 handful frozen wild blueberries
  • 1 ripe banana
  • Β½ cup kefir (probiotics!!!)
  • 1 cup soy milk (or almond or regular milk)
  • 1 portion (vegan)* protein powder (optional)

IMG_4725

Toppings:

  • Chia seeds
  • Bee pollen
  • Homemade granola
  • Pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
  • Hemp hearts/seeds

IMG_4724

PS: don’t have a blender?? Get a smoothie at RevUp (Glendon friends – you know what I mean) and add the toppings in your room…

RECIPE 2: Super Yummy and Super Wholesome Hummus Bowl

I love this meal a) because it’s so delicious b) it’s filling and gives me long lasting energy when I’m trying to get stuff done.

IMG_4679

The Hummus Bowl is comprised of:

  1. Hummus, of course. I make mine at home because it doesn’t take that long and I love to cook. Here’s the recipe I use:Β Yotam Ottolenghi & Sami Tamimi’s Basic Hummus. The hummus is a crowd pleaser and never fails me… (If you don’t have access to a kitchen, store bought hummus will totally do the trick!)
  2. Pickled turnips! I love the sharp vinegary flavour of the turnip with the hummus… Yum! I don’t make these… Most big grocery stores (i.e. Adonis) will have them.
  3. Roasted beets! Super simple… Toss in EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil), add salt and pepper and then put them in a hot oven until soft or crispy (whichever you prefer). If you need more guidance, see this link:Β How to Roast Beets – The KitchnΒ (No kitchen? Lots of grocery store sells pre-roasted veg that you can store in your fridge for your hummus bowl! Not a fan of that extra expense? Other raw veg, like carrots, broccoli or fennel would be tasty too!)
  4. Kale salad! This kale salad is so simple: de-stem kale (I prefer Calo Nero or Lacinato kale), wash and then chop coarsely… Put the kale in a large bowl and add EVOO, salt, pepper and grated parmesan (or nutritional yeast if vegan) and massage with your hands to a) mix it all together b) soften the kale… Trust me, the massage is worth it for the texture of the kale and maybe it’ll help alleviate some of your stress!
  5. Finally – top with a drizzle of EVOO and some Armenian (also called Syrian or Aleppo) pepper for taste.

FullSizeRender-64

The best part of this recipe is that it can all be made in advance (the kale salad can even last a day or two in the fridge) and you can assemble as you go!

Hope you enjoy! Good luck with finishing your semester! And please let me know if you make any of these recipes! Happy eating XX.

* I am not vegan, although I do eat a lot of vegan good; I just prefer this powder. Feel free to use whatever you have on hand/prefer.

One thought on “Nourishing Your Body: End of Semester Recipes

Leave a Reply

